Mack’s Mindless Musings: My 2016 New Year’s Resolutions.

New year’s resolutions: lists of vague, wishy washy goals lacking any real substance or discernable point. Subjective rubbish open to poetic license and abused to suit your needs based on how you feel from time to time. For example in 2016 I want to be healthier, fitter, faster, stronger, wiser and generally more awesome! It all sounds like an attempt to be become the Million Dollar Man (I know what my first resolution will be!). In truth my own lists have likely been guilty of this in the past but not this year.

This year I don’t want a list entitled Mack’s inevitable failures but Mack’s realistic, attainable, worthwhile resolutions (obviously a working title). I will be attempting to employ a simple pnemonic used when outlining targets to ensure my resolutions have real purpose this year. This is the S.M.A.R.T method:

Specific

Measurable

Attainable

Realistic

Timely

With the above ‘loosely’ in mind here are my 2016 Resolutions:

  • Get fixed

Currently I am recovering from a torn left peck, have a fractured back in two places and a detached ACL in my right knee (plus a couple other bits not worth mentioning). It’s true, I have a body like a rich tea biscuit… I wish I was more like a hob nob. Anyway I digress, by the end of the year I want to be able to complete a one arm press up with my left arm, have my ACL re-attached (surgery) and have gained some answers regarding my back. Admittedly the latter is a little wishy washy but that’s because I have no idea what can be done with it yet.

  • Lose weight

Here we go, just another normal New Year wish. Surely everyone says this right? I thought about it for a while and considered other variations such as get fitter, eat healthier, train more but these didn’t fit the SMART method in any way, shape or form and were far too subjective for my liking. I am currently 96.6kg which is the heaviest I have ever been and I can assure you it isn’t a lean, good condition weight. I’m not typically a fat person, my ideal body weight is between 85 and 90kg when reasonably lean. My thinking is that if I aim for this weight threshold then I will, as a result, be fitter/healthier/stronger and blah blah blah…

  • Increase Twitter and Facebook following.

Bobal and I have only recently started blogging and in less than 2 months we have managed to get 1000 followers on Twitter but only 50 on Facebook. My aim, by the end of 2016 is 5000 followers on Twitter and 500 likes on Facebook. Challenge extended… challenge accepted!

  • Ban smart phones.

This is actually an old idea between Bobal and I that we found most beneficial and enlightening. It has regressed recently for a myriad of reasons but we both want to revive it this year. I’m not talking all the time but just on an evening when we should be enjoying each other’s company. You know; talking, engaging and generally having ‘human’ contact as opposed to Whatsapping each other on the same couch. I can imagine 90% of couples or families are guilty of this nowadays. Sitting in silence looking at their phones,  scrolling aimlessly through Facebook whilst you ‘watch a film’ no more for me. I love my wife and enjoy a lot (not all) of what she has to say ☺ so I intend to listen… most of the time.

  • Organize Money.

No, not spend less, earn more or save money. I simply want to ensure I know what money I have at all times by recording what I spend on a daily basis. Chip and pin, saving bank details onto websites and contactless payments have made spending feel more akin to a game of Monopoly than actually parting with your hard earned pennies. It’s lost that feeling of handing over cold, hard cash and has become disconected and somehow feels easier to part with. This for me is dangerous and I combat it with overcomplicated Excel spreadsheets but this year I will ensure I actually use them.

You may have noticed a distinct lack of work based resolutions. This is far from accidental. I love my job and like to think I am good at it however I have grown to realize that my job is a means to an end. It is what I do to raise funds for my life, my real life which is the time I spend with my friends, family, wife and child. With this in mind I will have no work based resolution this year ☺.

I am by no means sugesting that maintaining these resolutions will be plain sailing. There will of course be ups and downs, good days and bad but the trick is to appreciate the good, forgive your self for the bad, learn from it and move on.

Determination is about striving towards your goals long after your initial feelings have gone.

Have a great year everyone, I intend to.

Mack

Check out Bobal’s resolutions here

Find Us On Facebook

Follow Us On Twitter

2 thoughts on “Mack’s Mindless Musings: My 2016 New Year’s Resolutions.

  1. that ban schmardt? foanz thing is HUGE. yeah, i sorta wisch i would not look on in dread&horror at entire families in a restaurant, EVERY-1 staring down @ their devices. connected? DISS-connected. when i write the science-fixion/horror gnawvel i will never write, a big theme will be that the TERMINATOR (in the form or Termites) and the BLAWB and the BAWDEE-snatchers (they snitch, too) will take over those people ADDIKTID 2 their devices 1st. assimilate them. continue to feed them instruxions thru’ their devices. then they’ll come for the rest of us …

    Like

Leave a Reply

